What kind of grass?

Hope you're having a pleasant bank holiday Monday, blipchums!

What kind of grass grows from these little bulbs or corms or whatever they are?
Pernicious, that's what!
The grass spreads like wildfire, clings to the ground as if it'd been superglued, and as you pull it up, it sheds its bulbs to ensure it'll carry on growing. It's taken my over an hour to clear an area of about three square feet - and this a week after pouring weedkiller over this area. It's also in all the flower beds, where I can't use weedkiller.

I'd never come across grass growing from bulbs before we lived here. It's not a decorative grass; looks just like any other grass, but it's an absolute devil. Nothing will grow in its path - except, perhaps, mint, that other strong-rooted, quick- spreading beggar! Hmm!

Still, the sun's shining, and I had a cushion under my knees, so could've been worse. But one hour on, and with sore hands, I've barely touched the tip of the grassberg.

Anyone know what sort of grass it is and/or secret ways of eradicating it? (The bulbs are upsidedown in this photo.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.