ECA Degree Show 2014

It was the Edinburgh College of Art’s Degree Show and I wandered up to Lauriston to see what the students had been up to when not in their beds, or in the bars or sitting around in the park drinking beer and wine. My, they have been busy, impressively so. I always make a beeline to the Product Design department and thought that the ideas were interesting and the solutions they brought to unique problems fascinating from an engineering perspective (I wish the students had been around to answer a couple of questions but no-one was about, ah well). A quick squint through the Interior Design sets to be equally impressed then back over to the main building to see Photography and Architecture. With the Architecture students taking up the main Sculpture space in the middle of the building there was much to see and their displayed work extended into several other rooms from which this image of the Castle was taken, nice view from your workplace I think. I was impressed with the quantity and quality of work on show but a wee bit disappointed that the brief that they were working toward was not better explained or that the displays arranged in more organized fashion.
Finished of by looking at the Photography exhibits and couldn’t help having a giggle at a comment in a guest book set up by a student whose work was based on Images of Shale Bings “Excellent work, first thing I’ve seen today that I understand what the subject is!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.