Journey Through Time

By Sue

Memorial Day

My mother's brothers were in WWII and the Korean War and all came back home. I know men who served in Viet Nam. But Bill was in the National Guard and my father wasn't in the WWII as he had had polio as a child, and in my direct line ancestors, I have to go to the Civil War before anybody in my "family" served. They were on both sides, North and South. I'm sure I've mentioned this before, but here it is again. And I had ancestors in the War of 1812, and the Revolutionary War and probably a few others, and thankfully babies were either born before or after their service which continued the line down to ME! Whew!

Calla Lilies have been hybridized to be more than just white lilies. Now they come in lots of different colors and they are much smaller than their big Easter Lily cousins. I saw this one at one of the big garden nursery's that I visited this afternoon. I was after something in particular but they aren't carrying it this season for some reason. And since we've had so many nice spring days this year, their stock was really limited for some things, especially annuals. So, business must be good!

We went to my aunt's place today so that Bill could do a few chores for her in her yard. She tries so hard to do it all herself, but somethings she needs an extra hand and Bill was good to help her today.

I dropped off a book at the library and came home to get dinner in the oven. A nice day after morning clouds. We should have sprinkles off and on giving way to a hot weekend, which is when our son will be moving to his new place.

And that's about it for today. Hope you are all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.