Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Gaggle

Monday is usually my 'computer' day, when I try (not always successfully) to catch up on my email correspondence as well as update the couple of websites that I maintain. So it was mid-afternoon before I dragged myself away and discovered the life that exists outside these four walls. More than anything else, I needed to go to the shops as the contents of the fridge were beginning to look a bit sparse and I wanted something more substantial than a pot of yoghurt for my dinner.

I had been planning to have a wander around Beecraigs Country Park for a while, so my trip to the shops was interrupted by a 'little' diversion. While on my leisurely stroll around the loch, I saw a man sitting down by a tree-trunk, SLR camera with zoom lens in hand. When I got nearer, I saw he had spotted a family of geese in their nest. However, my arrival coincided with their deciding to go for a little swim - I don't think the two events were related - so the opportunity of catching similar photos passed me by.

Shortly afterwards, though, a family with young children came along the path. They had breadcrumbs which were tossed gleefully towards the geese which, in turn, were excitedly leaving the water along with other family groups in search of some party food. For the original photographer and myself it had suddenly become 'national photograph a goose day'. Certainly, it was a day made for digital photography knowing that the majority of shots would have their lives ended by the Delete button.

The family with young children moved on. The geese returned to the water. The loch once more was still and the only sound to be heard was that of the plentiful birdsong... and two photographers exchanging stories.

I ended up just having a stir-fry for tea. And a pot of yoghurt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.