Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Gate

Since I was in Cumbernauld on Tuesday morning I thought I'd have a wander round Cumbernauld House Park after my volunteering stint and maybe take some photos of Cumbernauld House and The Glen. The day took an unexpectedly pleasant turn as a result of that decision.

As I was taking some photos of the 'Big Hoose' (as it is known locally) from the park I was approached by a gentleman out walking his dog. It was my cousin who lives near to where I live but, coincidentally, was also in Cumbernauld that day and had spotted me from a distance. We hadn't met up for a few weeks, so we had a pleasant walk around the park and shared our news.

The only 'down side' of this turn of events was that my planned hour or so of taking photos fell by the wayside. Nevertheless, I took a few snapshots of the house, park and glen as we wandered along and at least had something to blip for the day.

At one end of Cumbernauld Glen there is an old gate (pictured), which once served as an entrance to the Cumbernauld Estate. On this gate there is the coat of arms of the Fleming family, for whom Cumbernauld House was built in the 18th century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.