Merry

When I got up this morning I felt about as merry as these four. It was still raining so all the possible things that could be done couldn’t be done because it was too wet. Igor tried to cheer me up by promising me an outing to the tile shop to choose some new tiles for the shower room. Even that failed to lift my spirits to anything close to merry. I usually jump at the chance to start a new DIY project but somehow I just couldn’t get excited about it.

We set off after lunch calling in at the charity shop to drop off some things that have been sitting in the garage for several weeks. Getting rid of rubbish previously loved items always gives me a good feeling so I’m now somewhere just above deeply depressed. Next we stopped at the bank. Daniel is still in Australia but several months ago won £25 on his premium bonds which are registered at our address. It’s been on my mind to pay the cheque into his bank for him but I’ve been putting it off. Getting rid of a job I’ve been intending to do for a long time has now put me up to just above downright miserable. I call in to return a top I bought a few weeks ago that wasn’t suitable and while I was in the shop bought two more T shirts. Thinking of wearing them on a sunny day made the corners of my mouth turn slightly up instead of down. We finally got to the tile shop. Once I was in there ideas for the shower room renovation came flooding in and I think my mood could finally be described as somewhere approaching merry.

If it’s raining again tomorrow I’ll be back to feeling like a puppy that’s been forced to wear a stupid hat for a bank ad!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.