Snow day

I woke up to snow and was glad that I didn't have to travel into Central London today. Instead, I worked at home with the guinea pigs running around my feet and the cat on the cushion beside me. A guy came round to survey our windows, but he was cancelling his afternoon appointments as the roads were starting to get slippy.

I headed out at 3.30 to go to the post office and chatted to a neighbour who was salting her front path. Her son's school was closed so she had to stay at home. When I reached the post office, I looked like a Yeti and had to shake off all the snow before going indoors. I then walked to the cemetery where no one had walked today, though there were some vehicle tracks. It looked wonderful in the snow. I popped into the shops and when I came out about 15 minutes later, there was traffic gridlock. Vehicles were finding it difficult to make it up the steep hill and I could see their wheels spinning and not moving much forwards. In no time at all, the traffic was backed up down to the next borough. Fred was on a bus there and got out to walk home. I met him and went for a hot chocolate at a local caff, which was full of people. On the walk home, we saw cars sliding down our road and into the main road. Luckily the traffic was going very slowly on the main road so no harm was done. It's a mystery to me as to why the roads are so bad because the gritters were round in good time.

I'm not sure what tomorrow will be like. If the stuff on the pavements and roads freezes, then there's a death trap out there and I think London will be closed. Mind you, Fred said that Central London has hardly any snow, but we need to be able to get there first!

Oh, and I made a snowman :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.