Lincoln's Inn Field

I wandered through Lincoln's Inn Fields to Holborn at lunchtime and had to walk very gingerly over some of the paths, which even my well-gripped DMs couldn't get a purchase on. I almost went flying this morning on my way down to the bus stop. The council had gritted the pavements, which was very welcome, but hadn't gritted the side roads, so when I had to cross a side road to reach the pavement on the other side, it became a little tricky.

In the evening, i headed up to the Canal Bar in Caledonian Road for Si's birhday bash. The pavements up there were ice rinks, not greatly helped by the group of teenagers in Converse in front of me who were deliberately sliding their way forth and thus creating a perfectly smooth surface for the folk behind them. Thanks guys.

Once in the pub, I met up with old colleagues and Si's friends. It was a fantastic night. I really miss meeting these people every day and can't believe that it's been almost a year since I was made redundant. The premis of the party was that we had to bring our vinyl so the DJ (a friend) could play them. As myself, Russell and Si had brought so much vinyl, the DJ told us that we had to play them. I was a bit nervous at first, as was Russell, so we DJ'd together. It was fantastic fun! I have to say that I only fluffed a tiny bit, but no one noticed - The Kinks' 'You Really Got Me' started playing at 33 speed instead of 45, but I noticed after the first bar. Phew! We were soon kicked off the decks by the birthday boy and we hit the dancefloor. It was the best 60s/70s/80s/90s indie disco ever - Bronski Beat, Stevie Wonder, The Who, The Cure, Blondie, Steve Earle, B52s, Grace Jones, Bee Gees, and we finished (because it was a party) with Black Lace's Superman. Needless to say absolute hilarity ensued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.