The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Points of colour

A wet and grey day, but with points of colour. It became clear last night as we were travelling to Manchester that I have been burning the candle at both ends, and my batteries are completely flat (apologies for the mixed metaphors). It seems to be an annual event as the days get longer, and I can't sleep much after dawn, I get chronically sleep deficient. So I stayed at home and spent the afternoon catching up with much needed sleep. I didn't help myself when I got up by banging my head on the sloping ceiling, only the second time I have done that, and this time causing blood to flow copiously.

There are some things that have to be done, no matter how tired you are. This is one of them. Gus is in the back of the car waiting to go for his evening walk. We had a trudge along the estuary, and he was his usual exuberant self as we visited the woof trees and went to the rabbit field sprint. Gus may be a pied wolf, but he brings colour to the dullest of days.

The other point of colour today was an email from Gordon Laing of Blipfoto. It was a reply to the enquiries I have made asking if Amalarian's journal could be given full membership. Why did I ever doubt that Blipcentral would come up with a solution? I should have known better. They have been trying to develop a technical fix that would have given Tuscany special status, but that was not possible, so they have now given Molly's journal full membership. Gordon was at pains to point out that this is a one-off, not something that they can do for everyone; it's a gesture that acknowledges the uniquely special place that Molly held and still holds in so many blippers' hearts. So now Molly's journal is much more accessible, and I have already spent a happy few minutes rediscovering some of her finest blips. Thank you, Gordon. Thank you, Blipfoto. This oasis in the internet desert still blooms, bringing colour into all our lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.