The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Romeo, Romeo...

...where for art thou, Romeo?

This little spaniel with her Jacobean hairstyle was playing Juliet to Gus's Romeo. On the estuarine walk, there is a house close to the shore that sits behind a 12 foot wall. This little dog tracks Gus along the top of the wall as we walk away from Arnside. Most of Gus's admirers are human rather than canine, but this dog may be different, not that he's ever met her, nose to nose. Today she was sporting in the curls of her right ear a little flower from a horse chestnut tree, and something green and grass-like in her left.

And here I have to confess to artistic licence, I haven't established whether she is actually a she. Perhaps I should have kept quiet, but I fear correction from someone local.

A good day today, the weather was fairer than we might have expected, and I only got drenched once (just after this was taken).

In the morning, we had a very welcome visit from Pam and Bern, the first time we have seen them since the big flood tides in January. As ever, conversation ranged widely, and time slipped away. And Bern and I learned about the incredible life-cycle of the oil beetle (Bern having shown me a photograph of one taken by his lensman grandson). Now I have to find one, to share the story with blip world.

ps Within five minutes of posting this to the portraiture group (perhaps a little tongue in cheek), it was removed by a zealous moderator. Are dogs not considered suitable subjects for portraits?

A year ago: a portrait of a sparkling slug.

pps Today (Wednesday) I had a reply from Blipfoto concerning my enquiry about Amalarian's journal being given full membership. I should have been more patient, and realised the question would have been given serious consideration. They have given Amalarian's journal full membership, the delay was while they tried to find a unique solution for her journal. This is a one-off in recognition of the special place that her journal has in the hearts of so many blippers. I have always said that Blipfoto is a unique oasis in the internet desert, Gordon Laing has reaffirmed that belief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.