Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Magic Bus

Today I took Ida on a double decker bus for a wee morning out in Kirkcaldy.

Nobody can say I don't spoil my kids on my days off eh?

It was the first time since she was a baby that she's been on a proper bus (the wee Burnty bus doesn't count because its like sitting on a motorised tortoise) and I was looking forward to playing all the games with her that Arlo & I used to play.

Alas, Ida is a different creature from her brother.

Where he would chat to old ladies and merrily play the spotting game ("Mummy! I spot a man wearing a crazy hat"), I Spy ("I spy with my little eye something that is a....shop!") and the I Went To The Moon Game, Ida plonked herself down at the front of the bus, declared herself the driver, refused to let me sit beside her and commanded me to "be quiet" for the entire journey there.

She then drove the bus wildly all the way there, hurling her baby on the floor at every opportunity and shouting "NO TALKING, MUMMY" every time I opened my mouth.

We went to the museum and the library and then on to a little arts hub place to see a show called Yellow Valleywhich a friend of mine was in. It was lovely actually, but again Ida showed how different she is from her brother. He'd have been up there, singing and dancing with Drew and whacking all the unusual looking instruments and Ida spent the whole time clinging to me and hiding her face.

When we got the bus back I traded her seat beside her for a packet of crisps and I finally got the wee bus journey I was hoping for.

Desperate or what?!

Ida the Terrible is still, very much, in full effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.