Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Sport St*r

It was Arlo's P1 sports day today. As you can see from his stickers, he didn't do too badly at all!

I woke up with very mixed feelings about it - a kick back to the mixed emotions I had about sports day when I was a kid. Actually, scrap that - I didn't have mixed emotions about sports day, I just bloody loathed it.

I hated that I had to take part in it, even though I didn't want to. I hated that I was already resigned to the fact I would do shit. I hated that I couldn't work out why I wanted the badges so much even though I hated races.

Yep. But I did love getting outside for a morning with school and I loved the feel of the bean bags in the bean bag race. And I really enjoyed the 3-legged, regardless of how I fared.

Arlo - being a much less complicated beast than I - wasn't too bothered about it either way. He was more excited about the idea of getting to wear shorts & t-shirt to school. I was worried I'd turn into a competitve shouty Mum, willing other kids to fall on their faces so my boy could cross the line first. Thankfully - whatever lack of competition I had in me when I was a kid has transferred over to me as a Mum and I was just happy to see all the wee ones having a great day in the sunshine - well deserved for all.

No wheelbarrow race, though. Gutted. That would have been comedy gold. Nor the 3-legged. Again, comedy gold. However, there also wasn't a Mums race so I'll just give a wee nod of thanks to the universe for that one and get on with planting the planty flowery things Mum brought round for me last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.