LovestoRoam

By MelanieMay

"Head out on the highway looking for adventure"

It's a good job I never listen to advice especially warnings like never talk to strangers otherwise I would never had this great adventure. I got chatting to a guy on the plane beside me. He asked if he could take me out to dinner and told me I was very attractive, balls, panic set in, I freak out when guys come on to me, so I rolled out one of the many prefabricated boyfriends I have in my head that I use for such occasions. I wish I had a fake engagement ring for extra believability. Anyways, Abram, the guy, told me he rides bikes, and a few weeks ago I set myself a little goal of having my first motorcycle ride by the end of the summer. So, I saw this as my opportunity to fulfil that goal. So, fuck it, being the yes person I am I said that I'd love to have dinner with him. I am so happy I said yes, he rocked up to my hotel room on a reconditioned ex police Harley Davidson. Never take rides from strangers? Yeah right. Like I said, I never listen to advice and it always lands me in the best situations. We then went riding on the highway through the hot humid night in t-shirts under the most amazing electrical storm. It was epic. We went to the 'Afro American' part of town, as he called it, looking for authentic Southern Barbecue. We asked this huge homie for directions and he had a proper grill. Every tooth was gold capped and he couldn't speak! I couldn't understand a word. It was too funny. I then got taken out to dinner, never take food from strangers? I think not! Then Abram started telling me about his dabbling in heroin and his son's tattoos that his son got when he was doing time. He then went on to tell me his favourite book is the Bible. Who the fuck was I having dinner with in the bad part of town? But I do have a firm belief that people are inherently good and I trusted that Abram wasn't going to rape or murder me, at least not in the shady restaurant, although I'd imagine that if he did it wouldn't have been the first murder on the premisses. Anyways, I survived and Abram dropped me off right outside my motel room before riding off into the night. Imagine if I listened to all those 'Nevers'? I would not have had the amazing time that I did. That's the best thing about travelling alone, the strangers you meet and the stranger situations you get yourself into, that would never had happened if I was with someone else. So here's to never listening to advice or words of warning and looking for adventure and whatever comes our way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.