Mikey88

By Mikey88

Private Carriage Competition

I spent the day today at the Devon County Show. My wife's drumming club was performing for a session, so I took the opportunity to see them and then take pictures for the rest of the day. Much to my surprise, I found the Private Carriage competition fascinating. I'm not a horsey person, but they were so well turned out and controlled by their drivers, it was just a pleasure to watch. This pair were my favourites - they didn't win, but they were just stunning to look at. Apparently, they are Friesians and were imported from the Netherlands. They belong to one of the big houses down in Cornwall.

I also got some good shots of blacksmiths and farriers working, some from the working dogs display and some of falcons from the falconry display.

Unfortunately, the weather was wet in the morning and the car parks were a bit muddy. Some cars had to be towed out, but I was fortunate and found a relatively dry line to the road and managed to get out. It rained again on Friday and the car parks got much worse with the result that the Saturday was cancelled due to safety fears in the car park. Very sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.