Mikey88

By Mikey88

Wistman's Wood

Sorry I haven't posted much recently. I've been editing a lot of files for my wife's school - they are doing an arts project on the local area, and as I have a lot of photos of the local area, they have asked for some to use, so I've had my head down over a hot computer for a few weeks.

If you're interested, I have back-blipped a few shots from over the last week, including a trip to the Devon County Show. I'm looking forward to catching up with your blips and hope to be a bit more regular with my own.

We had a walk on the Moor today, going out to Wistman's wood near Two Bridges. It's a mile or two away from the road, so it was a bit of a walk. It's made up of sessile oaks growing from between some quite large boulders, which makes it difficult to walk around when you get into the trees. The thought is that this is why it's survived, as the sheep couldn't get to the saplings because of the rocks.

Photographically, the wood is at its best when it's in full leaf, it's been wet and there is a mist blanketing the moor. When it's like this, it is a very mysterious place and full of atmosphere. The tricky bit is finding a composition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.