It's ALL Go . . . . .

. . . . . or rather, it's all gone! An emphasis on ALL too, as absolutely everything has had to be taken out of the house, so that the earthquake repairs can happen.

Basically the house is on a lean to the east and to the north (yes, that means splitting). To fix this EQR have planned to remove all the wallboards plus bracing, winch/ratchet the house (a pole house) back into plumb with strapping, fix it underneath with stainless steel brackets and then rebuild it again inside; that's the short story. The engineering that's gone into planning all this has been considerable and time consuming. I know it's taken a long time and it's been 3.5 years of frustration and feeling in limbo, but I'm impressed and grateful for the help I've had from EQR the last 18 months.

On a different note, yesterday's The Last Hurrah apparently went into Spotlight today - and again I didn't see it! It's been another busy day at the house. Thanks so much for all your encouragement and wonderful comments about it. I was so pleased that I took the time to make a record of yesterday's sunrise; my last day in the house for about 3+ months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.