such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

Orchestra: day three.

It was our second day of full orchestra today, and we played Elgar. Absolutely delicious. And Andy dropped by for a bit a of a practice of the above masterpiece. His taste in music is much better than mine and a while ago he discovered Debussy's piano trio in G minor. And there are no words to describe it. It is so unbelievably delicious and in all honesty, it literally wants to make me rip my heart out. I would seriously recommend that you check it out. Anyway, I've divulged; so we practiced it after main rehearsals and it was the most fun I've had in quite a while. I'm playing the violin part, Andy's on piano and our other friend, Kieran (who is possibly the best musician I think I'll ever meet) played the 'cello part.

After all the formalities of a civilised run through, we decided to swap instruments and parts. Absolute carnage. I ended up playing the Grease riff, badly out of tune, on the 'cello whilst Andy got handed my violin, playing only open strings (although not half bad). And, whilst I like to think that I played the 'cello quite well, Kieran quite honestly won for his violin playing.

Anyway, today was a good day. One of the best actually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.