McZoo

By McZoo

Osteopathy

This is the decor on top of a file cabinet in my current attending's office. The old pharmacy bottles are a nice touch that add some color and interest. I think they're probably scattered about his office because he was a pharmacist prior to entering medical school. The photograph is of A. T. Still - the founder of osteopathy. He has several photos of A.T. Still and various students from the early classes up on the walls of his office. I love seeing the pride in career choice that the "old guard" exhibits.

Most of the osteopaths of my generation know very little about the early days of our profession. They didn't chose to become a DO; they would have preferred to be an MD. They don't believe in OMT or put forth the effort to learn it well so it does work for them. The majority will probably never utilize "the extra tool in their tool bag". Most are ready for the day when a DO and an MD are indistinguishable.

A great change is coming for us. I hope that we won't lose all of what makes us unique in the process of expanding our horizons. I am grateful for the rich history that my profession has. I am thankful for the osteopaths that battled the prejudices and won - allowing those in my generation to pursue careers in any specialty and practice in any locale. And if the day comes when that means nothing, I will be thankful to have learned OMT and our history. I intend to incorporate manipulation into my standard medical practice from here on out.

- It has been a very osteopathic centered day for me - even though I did no manipulation today. Weird. There were these photos everywhere this morning and then when I came home I had gotten an email from a resident about spots that have opened up in the upcoming Southerland Cranial Teaching Foundation's basic course. I will probably not be able to make it, but it was awesome that she thought of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.