View of Croft Quarry Nature Reserve

It has finally stopped raining! After a day full of meetings and teleconferences I was glad to get home as I had a bit of a fuzzy head, so after tea I took a drive over to Nature Reserve at Croft quarry. It was a lot wetter and muddier than I had expected, so much so that the boardwalk was under water.

I headed up to the top of the artificial banking that was built to shield the quarry from the surrounding villages, and it was quite bracing up there in the breeze. On the way up I saw some Long Tailed Tits in the bushes, and then as I was walking along the top I watched a Kestrel flying and hunting. It was interesting watching it from above rather then from below. The Kestrel appeared to be getting mugged by a gang of crows.

This is a view from the top of the banking looking down to the meadows and across the plain towards Leicester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.