Aye, but could you thoil one?

Marek Reichman, director of design at Aston Martin, explaining some of the principles behind the car's design. Interesting that his design department use the one-third to two-thirds golden section rule for every proportion on the car.

I always travel with a notebook and pen but this time I came away without a pen - I'd done a clear up, emptying them out of coat pockets, bags etc. At Gatwick I called in a branch of W H Smith - that's W H Smith the stationers - and they told me they didn't sell pens. "You'll have to go to the one downstairs," they said, so I did and they had a small collection. A single Bic biro - you know, the sort you find lying about everywhere - cost £1.79. That's daylight robbery! Well they didn't get my custom and nor will they. I bought one later - not a Bic, but good enough - at a corner shop for 25p and thought that was enough. The Bic too was a piece of great design. It looks like I'll need to add biros from Smiths with Aston Martins to my "can't thoil" list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.