If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Columbine (Aquilegia)

Again reduced to roaming round the garden looking for suitable subjects. This self seeded Aquilegia caught my eye.

Until I started thinking about what I was going to say I thought I had always known this plant as Aquliegia. Then distant memories of it being Columbine when I was a child returned. This made me look up the derivation of the names. Aquilegia is from the Latin Aquilia = Eagle as the petals are/were thought to look like Eagle talons. The other name is equally ornithological, Columbine from the Latin Columba =Dove due to the inverted flower supposedly resembling a group of five doves.

Tomorrow we are off to a "Country Fest" at Crooklands near Kendal where clickychick and "The Mate" have a stand with their photographs. This means I will be out of touch until late Sunday at the earliest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.