Still here

Somebody should probably chuck these old flower out. No need to chuck me out though, I'm getting there ;-)

I'm feeling more relaxed and relieved. Today I spoke to someone at work who is a toxicologist and pathologist. What a wonderful man! He was able to tell me about the NZ nettle I've encountered and what it's done to my body.

He explained it works differently to the European nettle. The toxins of the NZ nettle produces a complex protein structure. The nettle 'needles' are long and very fine. He thinks it likely at least one sting penetrated straight into a capillary and the neuro toxin spread and partied throughout my body. I've had most of the toxicological symptoms the nettle causes, the protein it produces has gone now and I'm dealing with the damage.

I'm keeping an eye on a wee white dot on one finger where I know I was stung (my colleagues can pick out two dark sting spots in it). It's unlikely to cause me issues at this stage but now I have a lot more knowledge I know what to watch for. Same with my leg.

I wasn't very bright at work but I lasted most of the day. After a wee rest I had a brief potter in the garden. Interestingly my legs and inner arms have come up in a light rash and I'm itchy. After today's explanation I understand my immune system is incredibly stressed.

I'm just so pleased I've been able to talk to this wonderful researcher and gain a whole new insight. I reckon I can relax and go with it now. I'll probably catch up with my GP next week just to make sure things are repairing as they should.

Things could have been far worse and I'm immensely grateful they weren't. I'll probably carry antihistamines from now on.

Very tired so I'm off to bed. Thank you for your comments. I'll slip a few in as I can. I might even manage to find a bright and colourful blip tomorrow ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.