Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie meets a dog his size!

It was dry and sunny this morning. And got drier and sunnier and warmer as the day went on! After his morning snooze - when I get all my chores done - we wanted to go for a walk, but I was expecting the BBQ delivery at some point. Then an email came saying that the delivery would be between 12.35 and 13.35. Brilliant!

So out we went. Archie met a dog his own size for a change - Bailey, a pug/shih tsu cross. I could see them in the distance. But we do see dogs and owners in the distance and I’d like them to make a detour and meet Archie, but they don’t. So this time I waited till they got nearer before I threw manners and caution to the wind and shouted,

‘Can we have a sniff?’

The owner was happy for them to have a wee sniff at each other. Though Bailey wasn’t the friendliest of dogs. The owner and I had a chat while the two dogs kept their distance after the initial sniff. I think I heard a growl from Bailey...

Then we saw a huge chocolate lab ahead - the owner looked over and they headed our way! The owner patted Archie and coo-ed over him, but the big dog kept bounding about and was more interested in carrying on with his ball game.

I had a chat with a (dogless) man who asked directions. Turns out he used to live here but has lived in Australia and NZ for 50 years. First time back and he was loving it, though his joints were giving him gip in the damp. Mind you, he lives in Brisbane, and it’s pretty damp there! We had a chat about the referendum.

Back home, Archie snoozed and I had time to whip round the lawns (with a lawn mower). I like to do them on a Friday when everybody’s out and then they’re nice for the weekend, and fingers crossed for sunshine.

JR went off to the afternoon movies. Archie did not oblige with his after lunch poo or after lunch sleep. I tired him out on the grass - he goes crazy, running so fast he rolls over. I decided to not bother with the movies, maybe try next week. But lo and behold, he did a poo, then went into his crate to lie down! I checked the buses and yes, I had time to catch it.

Actually, I wish I hadn’t bothered - it didn’t live up to the trailers or the reviews - 'The Two Faces of January'.

It’s a sunny evening. The BBQ arrived and I have attached all the bits. They’re so nice when they’re clean.

I shall pour a glass of G&T and sit outside and admire it. We’ll fire it up tomorrow! This must be summer at last.

But have I spoken too soon?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.