Lovehearts!

Another year, another wasted journey!!
Last year I travelled all the way to Swindon to Barbury castle hill fort (200 mile round trip) to look for Marsh fritillaries, and found none, today I repeated the process and once again not a Marsh fritillary in sight!!!!
To be fair it was a bit dull, and slightly chilly, but there was a Common blue and a Brown argus on the wing so I would have expected to see some if they were there!!
I did however see some other things including this pretty 5 Spot Burnet moth or Narrow bordered 5 spot burnet moth, I am not sure which as it is difficult to tell them apart.
These moths are on the wing from June, and are often found in species rich meadows. judging by the number of pupae I could see in the grass there will be plenty around this year.
When I looked more closely at this one, I realised the spots look just like little hearts..so I just had to blip it.
Have a great weekend blippers, looks like the weather might be picking up at last!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.