Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Brooklin, ME

Today I went to one of my favorite places in Maine - the Wooden Boat School in Brooklin. This wonderful, hands-on school is located on a 64-acre saltwater campus that just screams New England through and through. Brooklin proclaims to be the wooden boatbuilding capital of the world, and I would not argue this proclamation in the least. At the school, one can take a range of classes from Fundamentals of Boatbuilding to Traditional Lapstrake Construction and the one that strikes at my fancy Build Your Own Fox Canoe. They even offer a series of kayaking and sailing courses throughout the summer that run an entire week. What a great way to spend a vacation. Several years ago I built a cedar wood strip kayak that I still use all the time. Hopefully I'll be able to post some photos of it as soon as I get back to Oregon and free it from the winter hibernation.

Check them out online at: WoodenBoatSchool

This was such a fun way to spend the morning with my sister.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.