Even a weed...

...can look pretty when graced by a bee as the last of the sun's rays give it glow.

Warmer glow in large.

I find that my macro insect photography skills are a bit rusty. After a long winter of (mostly) shooting birds with a telephoto lens, I seem to have lost my macro touch. All of those instincts that came so naturally last summer seem to be buried somewhere in the back of my mind. It's a little frustrating, but a good reason to spend some time practicing I guess. :)

I had plenty of chances to practice tonight with the bees; there were so many on the low lying weeds, I had to be careful not to step on them as I moved around. As I shifted my position and squatted I had bees flying through my legs! Crazy - they didn't seem to notice or care one bit about me. Now the mosquitos and black flies... Well, they sure noticed me... Ugh. But the bee shots were worth it. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.