Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Fly me to the Moon

Laughing ‘Enry ‘Iggins
December 7th 1999 – May 30th 2014

Today our dearly beloved dog, Iggins (aka Iggie Diggie, Buddy, Bear) died. He was 14 ½ years old. He had suffered from congestive heart failure for the last 7 years, and early this morning he succumbed after as massive coronary. He is survived by Mom and Dad, Peri and Wally.

Losing someone as special as Iggins is never easy. He lived everyday with us, shared every part of our lives, was part of many wonderful family memories, and created memories himself. He was always very close to all of us.

When he came to us, he was little more than a nose and tail. But he had the boundless energy that only a puppy can have. He terrorized his older “brother”, Chester, until one day Chester – our tri-colored Cavalier who passed away in 2007 – cornered Iggins and sat on him. After this, they became close friends. Iggins was a very faithful companion of our daughters, following them everywhere whether they went for a walk, fishing, jogging or hiking. He was also a great traveler. He loved to ride in the car, but loved our motorhome trips. Whenever we camped, his favorite place in the motorhome was lying on the dashboard under the front window and watching (and many times barking) at all the passersby. He’s also been a wonderful mentor and companion to our younger Cavaliers, Peri and Wally.

Iggins taught us a great deal about joy, faithfulness and selflessness. Even when he struggled with his heart condition, he was always full of joy and freely shared his love of life with us. Yet, he was such a faithful friend no matter how we were feeling. During his lifetime, we lost family members and friends, and Iggins was always there to comfort us and help us through the mourning process.

I had the pleasure and privilege to hold my little boy as he left this life for the next. His last breath included a kiss for me. We are both undone.

We love you, Iggins, and will miss you.

Fly me to the Moon as sung by Frank Sinatra


Fly me to the moon
And let me play among the stars
Let me see what spring is like
On Jupiter and Mars

In other words, hold my hand
In other words, baby , kiss me

Fill my heart with song
and let me sing forever more
You are all I long for
All I worship and adore

In other words, please be true
In other words, I love you

Fill my heart with song
Let me sing forever more
You are all I long for
All I worship and adore

In other words, please be true
In other words, I love you
In other words, I love you.

- - - Bart Howard


This is a re-processed image of a photo taken a few months ago. I know it isn't new and wasn't taken today. Please forgive me.

Dear friends, please be patient with me right now. I may not be able to comment for a few days. We need to just grieve for a few days. Thank you all so much for your wonderful support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.