Weed

I was told that daisies are weeds, but I disagree, in my book (Gardening for very lazy people) weeds are plants that are growing where you don't want them - for example my neighbours' laurel, grows along the border between our two gardens, they prune their side I have to (unless I want it to grow all over my path) hack to death prune my side (and dispose of the sack of leaves) daisies in my lawn brighten up the expanse of green, although I guess to cricketers and maybe croquet players, daisies might be weeds, but not in my book...

Discovered today that Mr K shares my slash and burn gardening ethos, we'd agreed the budlia needed 'attention' before it swamped the Japanese maple, I told him I couldn't (for fear of losing fingers) use the saw, so I left him to it while I butchered trimmed back the laurel. Big mistake. The next thing I knew was that Mr K had won the fight of man vs. plant, so now there are three sacks of plant to go to the tip next week and not just one, and now we have a gap in the border...

In other news, walked through the graveyard on my way home, they were setting up for a funeral and there was a brass quartet tuning up near the grave, see something new every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.