Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Iris and Insect

I paid a return visit to the nature reserve at Croft Quarry, this time equipped with wellies, and boy did I need them. At times I was wading through water on the paths that was well over my ankles

It was a pleasant couple of hours wandering around listening to the birds. I heard a particular vocal warbler, although I'm not sure what sort it was, I could only see a small brown bird with a white breast, which seems to describe most of the warblers in my bird book.

I also saw a Coal Tit, but no Long Tailed Tit's this time. I also saw a Bulfinch in the trees, but it was so hard to see the birds and to photograph them. I also saw quite a few Swallows buzzing around, busily catching flies on the wing.

Around the pond there were some Flag Irises, which I stopped to photograph, and I noticed an insect on one of the petals, so I quickly put my macro lens on and took some snaps. Possibly worth a look Large although he is not as handsome as some of the bumblebee pictures on blip, but I'll get there. I'm off to buy some more bee friendly plants for the garden next week.

After I got home I did a bit of gardening, and I saw some more interesting bugs, which I have photographed too, and will upload onto the Blippers Community Overspill Flickr page

I'm quite pleased with these as they are my first real live insect macro photos in the 'wild'

Enjoy your weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.