Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Aria In "Anansi And The Moss Covered Rock"

I attended my youngest granddaughter's play at Metropolitan Learning Center today, entitled "Anansi And The Moss Covered Rock".

Anansi the Spider uses a strange moss-covered rock in the forest to trick all the other animals, until Little Bush Deer decides he needs to learn a lesson.

The play was based on the book by Eric A. Kimmel. Children's author Eric Kimmel was influenced by both the stories his grandmother remembered from her childhood in Europe and his copy of Grimm's Fairy Tales.

I have to say it was one of the best plays I've seen, and these are kindergarten children...the sets and costumes were made by some very talented parents, and directed by an amazing devoted teacher!

I'm always impressed with what MLC (Metropolitan Learning Center, K-12) teaches children starting in kindergarten. They immediately learn how to express themselves, talk into a microphone, and very few are shy...the confidence is obvious. I'm so glad that this is a priority in their classrooms, as it gives these children lifelong gifts at communicating and relating with others.

One of my favorite photos of the day was of the three little girls, watching the play from "under the curtain"....priceless!!!!

For more photos, visit my Flickr set....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.