Page boy

This is one of my favourite photos. It's me and my granddad at my auntie Chris's wedding. You can just make her out in the background, looking beautiful. I hadn't seen the photo for maybe fifteen years until I came across it at my folks', today. (They seem have lots of old photos out at the moment.)

I don't know how old I am there but I think my earliest memory is from that day. I was the page boy at the ceremony and I had a little velvet suit, so I probably looked like a miniature Brian Jones.

During the service, my granddad - from whom I evidently inherited my low boredom threshold - had me going up and down the aisles, pretending to be a milkman and asking people how many pints they wanted.

That's the bit I remember; the dark wood of the pews, taller than I was, and the seated guests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.