The River Nene

So, originally, I had one meeting, this week, in Thetford. As it's a bit of a schlepp to get there from Kirkby Lonsdale, I thought I'd break up the journey by staying over in Nottingham and taking a client out for dinner. But that excellent plan all went pear-shaped when I ended up going to London on Tuesday. In the end, then, it was down to London, back up to Nottingham and then down to Thetford, this morning.

The compensation was the drive home from Thetford, up the A17, which is gorgeous, although I wouldn't fancy doing it if I was in a hurry; the traffic flows at around 45 miles an hour, so you just need to sit back and enjoy the scenery.

At one point the road crosses the River Nene, going over a metal swing bridge with a control room on top. It looks amazing. Having driven over, I looked for somewhere to park but when I did see somewhere I'd already passed it so I then had drive a little way before I could turn around and go back to take some photos. Most were of the bridge, obviously, but I also took this shoot, looking in the other direction along the Nene. And, in the end, I preferred this shot to the bridge pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.