My Angle

By myangle

Anne the Vet

Anne needed a photo done, so Jo asked me to come in take a few. Great, I thought: a blip portrait for the week, and one that isn't male! As usual for this sort of shot I used my favourite lens, the 85mm and bounced the flash to give an even fill of light.

The resulting photo was razor sharp. For my own use I wanted black and white so I tooled around in PS to get the finish I wanted. I discovered a thing called calculations which in all my years as a PS user I have never looked at. I found it gave a very nice soft tonal range while still keeping good contrast. I then tried another thing I have never been bothered to use: Lens Blur. Then it was just a case of a layer mask the unblur the bit I wanted and this is the final result. I am please with it.

1/125th sec, f10, 400ISO, 85mm lens, bouce flash, Canon 350D

A major blue at work appears to have been averted today. I have 5 weeks of college starting Monday. It was looking like they were going to try and stop me, but it would appear that they have see sense.

Looking forward to the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.