Catching up with blips

With being out so much on holiday and only being able to access blip via the mobile phone, I fell behind with views and comments so am catching up now.

Several exchanges recently have led me to wonder at the relationships that are formed on a site like this. We really only see other people through a window in which they show us whatever they choose to share. How well do we really know the people we are interacting with and does it really matter?

I'm not offering up any deep and meaningful answers, but will say that for me, people seem to fall into 3 main categories:

1. People I have formed a bond with and exchange idle banter with pretty much daily
2. People who comment on my pictures and whom I will thank for taking the trouble & with whom I will exchange a few pleasantries
3. People whom I subscribe to because I admire their photography but I rarely comment and tend to look at their pictures only when drawn in by the thumbnail.

It's the people in category 1 that I wonder about. Would we be friends in the real world? How good a gauge is a blip relationship?

Bit deep for a Sunday afternoon.

On a lighter note and because dwalletta wouldn't forgive me if I didn't mention food, had the best meal of the holiday on my last day. Typical. Octopus salad followed by grilled rabbit with salad and fries. All washed down with a half bottle of red wine. I was in heaven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.