weewilkie

By weewilkie

two twos make four

I had five photos all equally blip-able today but chose this one because I really like the resonance between the two pulleys and the two knuckles of Dumbarton Rock. It's one of those odd connections that I didn't really see until I viewed the photo back.

The weather forecast said it was to be cloudy but dry. Nope. Rained almost the whole time I was out, and I was out a long time. I walked into town then got the train to Bishopton, then walked from there to Port Glasgow. I hoped to get a few nice photos and I did. Choosing the right one can be the difficult part.

Each photo would have a different blurb to it. Sometimes I hit on an interesting idea only for the photo to not really merit the words. Sometimes I have a good photo without much of an idea of what to say about it. So the trick is to get the best photo and words for the day. Like the mirror of the rock and pulleys, I have to feel that there is some connection between them. When the image and the words fit well the two multiply themselves. They say so much more than when the one is clearly much more interesting than the other.

That's my artistic endeavor for the day right there. To take two and make it four.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.