Wood Duck Family

Yesterday Ian and I discovered a hummingbird nest down in the park near the waterfall. So this morning early he and I each headed out into the park. He went earlier. I left around 7am. As I passed Scudder Pond I stopped for a look and there along the bank was the mother Wood Duck and her babies. She has six and they are all in this photograph. Can you spot number six? Try looking large. It might help.

Further along the trail I spotted a sweet little Chickadee and got this shot. I was tempted to use it as my blip but was more touched by the mother Woody with her babies.

Ian was at the spot when I arrived near the hummingbird's nest. (She is a Rufous, not an Anna's.) We watched awhile and finally the mother came to feed her two babies. My favorite photo of them is this one.

Still, at the end of the walk, the Wood Ducks won the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.