Visiting my mum and Bridie

I actually uploaded a blip at around noon today. I was frustrated about the thesis, which I need to finish very soon, but am struggling with the last bits. It was not a very positive blip. So I deleted it. Finished what I could on the thesis and then I let it all be and drove to Copenhagen to visit my mum and Bridie.

It turned out to be a really bad day to drive to Copenhagen. Sunday afternoon after a 4 days weekend (Thursday was a holiday, so lots of people took Friday off too). Lots of traffic + road work made a 1 hour drive take more than 2 hours.

I am still glad we went though. My mum is buried at Vestre Cementary in Copenhagen, which has a special section reserved for officers of the Salvation Army. It is a beautiful and peaceful place and I love it there. It is rather big, so I took the boys for a walk around the cemetery. We walked for about an hour and enjoyed the peace and the feeling of being close to my mum. When we came back, we spent some more time at my mum's grave. It is always hard to leave...

I put some flowers on the grave for my mum. She loved flowers and pretty things. I also left some treats for Bridie. Bridie was my mum's dog, but she lived with me for the last 1½ year as my mum was too ill to look after her. Bridie died a few days before my mum and I am sure they are together again. It was meant to be this way - my mum and Bridie loved each other so much. One could not leave this earth without the other. This is why I always bring treats for Bridie, when i visit my mum. I know they are together.

More pictures from Vestre Cementary here. There is a section in Vestre Cementary, for more than 8000 Germans that died in Denmark during World War II. It is a moving place to visit. So sad to think of all those young people, who went to war and died so far away from home.

The German section.

So it ended up being a really nice day and I am feeling at peace after having spent the afternoon with the boys, my mum and Bridie.

And if all goes well, I will finish my thesis tomorrow. Then I have a few days to read it through, correct mistakes etc. before uploading it to the University server on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.