Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Rebus's Scotland - a personal and parallel journey

This book caught my eye in the library, and I've enjoyed reading it. It is by Ian Rankin, and explains where his own and his fictional character, Rebus's lives overlap and diverge. Ian Rankin is about the same age as me and has lived in Edinburgh for a large part of his adult life, as I have. I enjoy his writing and observations, and in particular when he writes about the contrasts and surprises which our fair city provides. I've read some of the Rebus books but not all. The photographs which illustrate the book are gritty, atmospheric and often out of focus so it's interesting to see which ones were chosen to illustrate the story. I liked the fact that Ian Rankin and I both went on holiday to a caravan at St Andrews in the 1960s and probably both attended the same concert at one point (Barclay James Harvest!?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.