bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Olaf's Cod Piece

Last night we were in open sea for quite a period and the going was a bit rough so I had to spend most of the night looking out of the porthole towards the horizon or out on deck! This morning we reached Kirkennes which was our last port of call before heading South again. The ferry boat schedule means that I should see many ports and scenery during the day that were missed at night time on the route North....tho I have spent a lot of time on deck into the early hours not wanting to miss things anyway! I think we will emerge into better weather again as we move back down the coast...hopefully!
Yesterdays blip showed a typical northern fishing port. Cod is King here..without it there would be no livelihood or way of life for these communities . This was taken on the quayside whislt I watched some of the fish being gutted ( didn't help my queasiness !) The fisherman was Olaf and he loved my camera....he was working so quickly that I asked him to just slow down a bit so I could snap something! He could speak great English...and German and Italian he told me....and bits of Russian too. I told him about Blip and that this picture could get seen by people all over the world as I have blip friends in England, America, France, Australia etc etc. He explained that he always cuts the cods tongue out first ( and made some joke about mother in laws I think) and then the cod cheeks which are a delicacy served raw and the most precious. He offered me a taste, but I had to decline. I didn't have the heart to tell him I like my cod in crispy beer batter and served in paper with salt and vinegary chips! He didn't want his face in.....just his knife ! So I couldn't let him down and choose anything else to blip today.....Olaf's cod piece !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.