bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Honningsvag Harbour....in summer!

The ferry has now reached the North Cape Region and as the crew warned yesterday the glorious weather we have enjoyed on the way up the coastline has broken. But then we are also much further North...indeed you can't get any further than the North Cape and life here is very harsh and still revolves around fishing and therefore the weather. The North Cape actually consists of 5 fishing villages, plus some traditional Sami settlements still were reindeer are farmed. ( I saw quite a few reindeer from the bus window... they were very big nd totally white, which I didn't expect ).
This is Honningsvag, the largest of the 5 fishing villages and where the ferry docks.
The bus ride up to the North Cape globe and its touristy shop was pretty awesome...despite huge patches of freezing fog which moved around with alarming speed! But I took this picture when I was just back on the ferry waiting to pull out and I had spent most of the day in wonder at how these communities survive ......and how much the young people must long to get on these boats and see the wider world. Next time I'm across the border in Yorkshire and I think " I bet this is bleak in winter" ...I'll just laugh!
Despite the harshness of the picture, I likes the lines and curves of the walls and the stone. If you look large you can just about see the lines of the wooden tent like strutures all in a line on the top of the first hill....that's what all the cod are hung out to dry on when the catch is landed. There are hundreds of them all over the place...covered with a fine net to stop the many birds from pecking. From the bus they looked like wooden shacks...but then you can see that the shape is made up of thousands of fish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.