Journey Through Time

By Sue

Cecropia Moth

This is the most interesting thing that came my way today. My neighbor girl up the street was delivering the cookie dough that was her fundraiser from school and she and her friend pointed out this moth that was in our front yard. It looked like it was injured and was in the process of dying. I had to look it up as I don't believe I've ever seen one of these before. It is a cecropia moth, also called Robin moth and is a member of the silkmoth family. and it is the largest in North America. I hope I'm correct on the ID. Sure looked like it to me from the photos. They are, in this form, short lived and their life is measured in days.

Cool morning with clouds giving way to brilliant blue skies. It will be gorgeous all week long. Tomorrow I take auntie on some errands. See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.