Felt

What to say about felt. What IS there to say about felt?

When I was in high school I had to write essays for homework assignments fairly often. I didn't enjoy writing back then. On a particular day, the subject's lameness and my teenage laziness and unwillingness to think it through and research (without the Internet, no less) made it seem like an insurmountable task...which reduced me to a whiny pile of unpleasantness. Mom reassured me that one can write an essay about anything. "Anything?", I said/asked acidly. "Yes," she said. "Well alright, then," I replied in a smarty-pants tone of voice, "write an essay about (let's say 'cellotape'* because I don't recall exactly what I came up with)"

She did, and it turned out to be a fine one.

So, thanks to my mom for teaching me that one can, in fact, write an essay about anything. As a grown-up, I enjoy writing about everything. I have a lot to say about felt but since there's no teacher who will be asking for my essay tomorrow, I think I can safely skip it.

To all the teachers out there in Blip Land: please don't bust my chops for errors in punctuation. The placement of quotation marks in a casual conversation style dialogue still stumps me. I'm never sure where commas and question marks should go in relationship to the quotation marks. Tomorrow I'll research it and fix it. Or not.


*Scotch tape


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.