intothehills

By intothehills

Astrantia

Home and into the garden to make the most of this patch of fantastic weather. Whilst I've been away everything has shot on again - the runner beans are growing a few inches each day, the bluebells are just starting to fade and everywhere different colours are bursting forth.
I nearly missed one of my favourites - Astrantia Major - I love having this in my garden - it reminds of being in the mountains - in Switzerland both the Major and Minor sub-species grow wild- usually in the sub alpine zone just as you start to head upwards. It's one of the few plants where I'll use the Latin name in general (clients don't normally like that all too much) - I mean who'd actually want to call such a beautiful thing a 'masterwort' - Astrantia (from the Latin Astra for star) is just so much more apt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.