Eunique

By eunique

Assignment3- Collections *of toys!* ;)

Since I've missed out on the first two 'assignments' by Blipblog, I was determined to get my 3rd assignment done!

"Collections"--> I've seen so many blippers out there with cool collections of beads, band CDs, postcards, stamps.. and what do I have?

TOYS--and not any other toys-- SOFT toys.
*cue deafening silence, chilling breeze, a raven's squark from afar~

Yes, I know, not totally mind-blowing. But HEY! They have their own stories to tell too~! :)

First things first, I don't actually make a conscious attempt to collect soft toys, they were accumulated over the years when friends & family gave me for special occasions. I used to have a real lot more than these, but I've packed them in 2 big bags, sent to the Salvation Army. Those left in my posession are those which are either rare (i.e. the 3 smurfs on the right), or hold precious memories for me.

Alrighty, let's scrutinize the photo!

In the centre you can see the family of cows, and to the right you see penguins, and the left a whole generation of bears! The rest are a mix of Australian animals (my mum bought quite a few of kangeroos, koala, wombat, platypus & sheep when we visited Sydney 10 years ago), dogs, tiger, reindeer, round ball fuzzies, pig, and a bean (on the big cow's lap).

I'm born in the year of the ox--which explains the cows-- and the most special one is the small fuzzy cow beside the yellow penguin, as my mum bought them at UK's Marks & Spencers 7 years ago. I've also come to have an erm, affinity with penguins too. I started drawing the bespectacled "Penny the Penguin" in primary school, and it has been my 'trademark' icon ever since. I used to draw them on friends' autograph books (ahh~ those were the days~ :) ), and even on letters, postcards, & birthday tags. I'm not sure why I associate myself with penguins.. probably because they're a little awkward in behaviour, are quite quiet, and are a little on the paunchy-side. (Things which I see/saw in myself? Perhaps.) For some reason, I find them oh-so-adorable ^_^ I especially love Piyo-Piyo (the yellow penguin on the right), as it's so round, bright and cute! haha..

Out of the many bears on the left, the most significant one to me is the red one, which my mum bought at a discount after she had purchased a special item from a store (can't remember what she bought exactly). I was in my teens then, and had stored away my soft toys in a cupboard. Even so, my mum gave that bear to me, and instead of feeling incredulous & disbelivement like how an angsty teenager might have reacted, I was kinda amused, and found it special too. Beside it, the pair of CCHSM bears in uniform, are actually mementos i bought before graduating from my secondary school :) Behind them are a family of 4 (McDonald's) bears- Dad, Mum, Brother & Sister. I remembered two of the bears actually belonged to Liying, but she gave them to me when she knew I had the other two, just so they could be one big happy family.

Yupps, those are some of the stories behind these fellas..
It was good fun to have them all out of the cupboard to 'stretch' a 'lil and take a huge family photograph ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.