Sky Fire

It has been a long day, a very long day but this evening as the sun dipped there were beautiful pinks and oranges over our river but the cloud rolling in is an ominous sign of things to come....

I am enjoying reading for pleasure with the summer break from university and am currently reading a history of the Navy during the second world war. It struck me that at present the news os filled with world cup fever and to a lesser extent the Commonwealth Games but it saddens me that these somewhat frivolous events are being covered when it will be the centenary of the outbreak of the war to end all wars. Millions of men from both sides killed the countless millions more who never recovered from the horrors of gas, shell shock and the physical injuries they suffered.

When I see shots like this it makes me think of the gathering of the fleets at the Tail O' The Bank, what a sight that must have been, I am glad I did not have to live through the horrors of those times and am thankful for the sacrifice that my forbearers made so that we could live a life free from oppression and hatred. I hope you enjoy the shot today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.