But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Broke.

Posted on the 3rd June, 2014.

This is what happened to the trike after 20 hours of this year’s Mersey 24 Hour time trial, my one annual race. I’d covered 265 miles and was heading for what, to me, would have been a fairly respectable distance of about 310. I had noticed that the front wheel seemed to be bouncing a bit and had decided to stop and check it on reaching the main road a few miles away. Had I not just spent twenty hours in the saddle, I would probably have realised that the check was required a little more urgently.

As the reality sunk in, a kind helper on the course, having heard that I had problems, arrived to lend me a spare front wheel, instead he found someone with a van to collect me and the trike and take us back the event headquarters.
For the first time ever I finished in last place (by 16 miles), while the winner did 489 miles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.