Sticky

Since moving here (seven years ago tomorrow) I have poked ridicule at the many natives walking around with sticks (not disabled people, I hasten to add, I'm not that mean) nordic walking is a sport that is taken seriously here, except that many of those doing it seem think that merely holding the poles in their hands and randomly waving them about constitutes nordic walking.

I used to tolerate so that I could eat cake enjoy running, but then knackered (technical medical term) my achilles twice and thought I should maybe give it up and find something else.

This week I feel I've finally mastered nordic walking, no longer does my head spin with so many things to remember and I managed not to stab the dog with the pointy end of the pole too (that takes nordic walking to another level donchta know, holding onto a lead and sticks and not getting the lead wrapped around your ankles, the next target will be poles, dog and camera bag...)

I'm quite expecting my expat friends to disown me, fortuantely my British passport has recently been renewed so there's no fear of it being taken away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.