Moments

By togrrrl

Feeding Frenzy

Warning: Bad Poem and Parental Bragging Ahead

Tonight we took our son out for dinner at his favourite restaurant, the Mandarin Buffet as a token of how proud we are of him. It's a restaurant for gluttons, quite disgusting really, but what can you do? We have to make sacrifices for our children, don't we?

He asked what my blip would be about today, because I was lugging the camera into the restaurant, and I said him! He groaned, "Oh, Mom, are you going to write a poem?". He rolled his eyes - big eye roll. He hates it when I write poetry.

So, I made up this poem on the spot, and it's so awful, he said I could write about him only if I posted this poem too. So, here goes....

Out for dinner with
my dumbass* son.

Eating five plates at the Mandarin,
What fun.


* Dumbass - along with "idiot child", an endearment, not harassment

So, now for the parental bragging part. My son is 16 and he's really coming into his own and I couldn't be happier and prouder. Especially since he's beginning to find his niche at things that he loves and that he has talent for - not necessarily the things we would have wanted. He loves physics and math (hard math like imaginary numbers). I have never understood this stuff. And he's got a part time volunteer job at the museum helping with the kids programs. Also something I could never have done because I'm shy. It's just so cool to see him beginning to live on his own terms, not ours. A moment of peace and harmony while living with a teenager!

And as for other news, it's the weekend! I will sleep in, watch junk TV, go to a party and enroll in my next drawing course.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.