Wild Garlic

Dalmally Day 3, we are gradually working down hill through some dense and disorientating woodland.

I was initially surprised that we arrived at the river edge so near to the old bridge. The structure is clearly quite old and years of vegetation and small trees have gradually wrapped themselves around the masonry.
The bridge was going to be my blip but then this perfect clump of wild garlic caught my eye. The plant seems to thrive in damp shady pockets and this was not the only flower here. It is impossible not to squeeze a bit and the pungent smell seems imprinted on your fingers for ages after. Going through the images - I took a few- and then sprucing one up a bit in PS I would swear I could smell the plant off my screen.
The current project is coming together now; one more day in Dalmally. I just hope the midges aren’t as bad tomorrow. Today they were hellish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.