From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

'When I look up to the skies...'

Well, no point looking up at the skies today as you'd just get a wet face. It was raining when I woke at 4am and it carried on raining for the rest of the day. It's still raining now. I nearly slipped over when I walked into McDonalds for my cuppa where it was drearier than ever. I didn't stay long and went up to the council house where the doors were already thrown open.

I was on my own for the first half an hour and my day got off to a fine start. I had ten people on my list of employees who had recently left the council and I spent a very satisfying twenty minutes murdering people - terminating their Oracle accounts!

There was a problem with the door system a little while after that which had apparently been happening most of last week too. While people could get into the building, to their floor and office, they couldn't get out again. There were little clusters of people gathered either sides of the doors on the landings holding doors open for people to get out or trying to get in past the escapees. It was quite comical really with the council house turning into Hotel California which you couldn't leave! My route to the second floor and my egg toastie was OK though and coming back, I passed a couple of engineers wedging bits of corrugated cardboard under the doors to keep them open.

By the way, I am such a dragon!

Atif, who usually sits opposite me was dawdling half asleep ahead of me about to make himself comfy at my desk when I arrived back in the office. He nearly jumped out of his skin when I bellowed 'OUT!' at him. He thought I was still in Ayr or home working and had been enjoying himself hiding in my dark corner over the last week and a half. Everyone laughed. I'd yelled at him as if he was next door's dog about to cock his leg in my vegetable patch. He yelped and leapt back over his side of the desk. (P.S. I don't have a vegetable patch)

Things soon settled down to the usual drone.

Nothing else happened today. I went out for wild cherry suet cakes for the birdies at lunchtime and got myself pizza on the way back. It was too wet for pictures when I was out but I was lucky to catch this sweet dove as I crouched down and wasn't seen. They are so timid unlike the starlings and pigeons.

Go large...

Track? The Daz Doorstep Name That Tune Challenge today was another number by this band which I got easily. I fancied this marvellous song - Pictures Of Matchstick Men

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.